When Gabbar met Basanthi

Posted: November 30, 2008 in Humor, Love, Writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

Share on FacebookLike this at Facebook!

The red Volvo bus came, even in that pouring rain, on time. I got on it. I could see two empty seats facing each other, at the entrance. I took one of them & hoped that the really hot girl behind me would take the other seat. She didn’t. “An hour of boring travel”, I sighed. That’s when she got on the bus. She looked at me & the empty seat, & took it.

She was wearing black figure hugging wet clothes, a black monkey cap, a red shawl & a stupid smile. She removed her wet monkey cap & repeatedly disturbed her hair till I was able to smell her shampoo’s flowery fragrance. From her wet hair, a drop of water had broken free & was grazing through her dimpled cheek, oh so slowly, to her neck & beyond. As I was enchanted by the hot scenic path of that cool, beautiful dew-like drop, I thought I heard her say, softly, “Kiss me!”

Wait, that couldn’t be right. “Snap out of it!” I thought & broke free from her charm- back to reality.

“Excuse me” she said.

“Oh! So that was what she said!” I thought sighing.

“Excuse me, I think you have dropped your hand kerchief, Miss Priya” she said with a naughty smile. On the hand kerchief was embroidered in red, the name of my idiotic sister, Priya.

“Priya… it’s Priya’s… ” I stammered, with a nervous smile. “She’s my sister” I said hiding the hand kerchief from her view.

I guess it sounded fishy to her. She didn’t believe me.

“Oh? & I am wearing pink jeans & a yellow tank top which says “I’m Gay!”!” she said laughing softly.

“Huh? Oh! That’s a good one!” I laughed. She had told an obvious lie & a funny joke. “I can play that game too!” I thought & said “I too am wearing a pink jeans & a yellow tee which says “But, I’m NOT!”!”

We both laughed heartily. The game was on!

“I’m Basanthi! I’m a talkative jolly girl & I have a short term memory!” she said. She really did look like Basanthi from the movie Sholay, only if you looked at her with a tilted head & closed eyes!

“Ba-sa-nn-thi! I’m Gabbar Singh, the most feared bandit, Huahahahaha!” I said, with a Gabbar-like look on me. I think I was drooling! I did look like Gabbar!

“Really? I love the name Gabbar Singh!” she said with a clap.

“I know! You married me- for my name. Not for love, not for my money, not for my brute strength, not for the fame too” I laughed, “You married me just because you loved my name!”

“Come on!” she exclaimed, “Are you sure you didn’t marry Dhanno, my horse?”

I laughed. “No I’m sure. You have forgotten because of your short term memory,” I explained, “Actually, you have married me six times already!”

She giggled. “Talk about History repeating itself! I must remember not to repeat my past mistakes!” she teased.

“It isn’t that bad being married to me!” I said, “You particularly liked the way we used to handshake.”

“Handshake?” she asked, “Was there a special way we shook our hands?”

“Yes & no.” I said mysteriously, “We used to shake our legs, literally. Instead of hands, we shook legs!”

“Now that’s really… something!” she giggled, “Even an insect with a short term memory can’t forget something that!”

“Not to mention our 7 daughters,” I continued, “You absolutely love them!”

“I have 7 daughters? I gave birth to 7 children? Wow!” she said looking at herself, “For a woman who gave birth to 7 children, I have a well maintained figure! Impressive, don’t you think?”

“Well I can’t complain!” I teased, “You were always worried that you’ll become fat after the next child, but I always knew that you’ll be prettier than any woman there ever was, or ever will be!”

She glowed even more radiantly. “Well, I love kids!” she said, “What are their names?”

“Kaalia”, I said, “All of them are named Kaalia

She laughed hysterically. “You named all our kids, Kaalia? Why?” she asked trying to maintain her composure.

“I just love that name!” I said, “Nobody can blame me for loving one name, especially you. You even gifted me a mobile phone with a phonebook that had everybody’s name as Kaalia! I still have it…”

“Did I now? That was very sweet of me” she smiled, “Can I see it?”

“Why don’t you dial my number- 9844******, & see for yourself” I said.

“Is it a mental hospital’s help desk number?” she asked with a grin, & dialed that number from her mobile. My mobile phone rang. She looked surprised.

“You lost!” she said in a delighted tone, “You told a truth!”

“Well, I lost technically”, I replied with a mysterious smile.

“Technically?” she asked sounding puzzled.

“I lost this game” I said, “But I won your phone number!” I smiled like a lunatic. I felt like I was the smartest man in the world. & I knew- I might as well become the happiest man in the universe, soon!

“And I have to get down here!” I said, standing up. The bus had reached Town Hall.

She blushed for a few seconds. She was all smiles as she shook her head. She offered her hand to shake. I felt more like kissing it. But I took what I was offered.

“This time we are shaking hands,” I said shaking her hand, “but next time, hopefully we’ll be shaking legs. And if you are shy, we can do that under the dinner table!” I laughed naughtily. I was too happy to think about what I was saying.

“Thanks for the warning!” she said in a professional manner, “I will be wearing iron sandals for both defense & offense!” Once again, she burst into her soft merry laughter. As I got down, she decorated her face with her sweet soothing dimpled smile, which remains etched in my heart, for forever…

Share on FacebookLike this at Facebook!

Comments
  1. manushi says:

    THIS IS HILARIOUS!!:D…too good!!

  2. Alice says:

    i cant stop laughing on this… oh god!!! dude u actually made my day… 😀

  3. Bhavanee says:

    ha ha ha… grt stuff!

  4. Ravi Dev says:

    Suri,

    I enjoyed reading this post as much as I did reading the draft of it.. 🙂 Keep going dude.

    • surysingh says:

      Ravi, That day whataver draft you read was the same thing i posted here.. No changes 🙂 I’m usually too lazy to polish or re-write 😛

  5. Nehha says:

    Hilarious!!! Too good.

  6. anukthi says:

    Awesome 🙂

  7. tamourtahir says:

    Loved your work and I think you should continue it or at least try to continue this act a little more cause I think the memory lost part will be a little difficult but give it a try..

    http://tamourtahir.wordpress.com

    • surysingh says:

      @Tamour,
      Thanks 🙂
      I didn’t get your question quite clearly- you want the conversation between Gabbar & Basanthi to go on for a longer duration?

      If that’s the question, honestly, it crossed my mind a thousand times 🙂 I could add more jokes, more cute flirtations, but after all the thinking, i thought not to ruin this sweet gem by dragging unnecessarily when there is no need to do so. I wanted this to be short and sweet 🙂

      But i appreciate your suggestions 🙂

      • Supriya Girish says:

        Amazing Sury…..
        Can’t believe tht this is the same frnd of mine frm college, who helped me solve codes… 🙂

      • surysingh says:

        @Supriya,
        Haha 🙂 The good old college days! We used to do crazy things in college like study 😀 Glad that you liked the story 🙂

  8. supriya girish says:

    Yeah… Crazy stuff serisouly… 🙂
    U kno wat, u shud release a book of short stories… With all these stories in it…
    N i want the first autographed copy of it… 😀

    • surysingh says:

      Ah now i can convince some editor that atleast one copy will be bought by a person, voluntarily 😀

      I’ve been thinking about a book for a long time now, but i still have a long way to go, and lot of things to learn & explore… When I’m ready, I’ll look for publishers 🙂
      The first autographed copy will be yours 😉

  9. supriya girish says:

    Sury….!!!!!
    How mean… 😦
    I thought I said, u’re gonna gift me the first autographed copy… 😛

  10. tamourtahir says:

    Hi sury
    Thanks for considering the suggestion. Seriously man you can write some thing more awesome than this If you give some creative time to it. Go for a walk observe every thing and you will find stories every where than use your creative imagination to exploit it. Great work once again keep it up, oh yes I may need some writing tips and tools from you in the near future:P

    • surysingh says:

      Hi Tamour,
      Yep writing is a passion- I’m giving it whatever time i manage 🙂 Thanks for the advice and encouragement…

      You can find a lot helpful tips for writers- especially beginners on net & books… The one that i read a bit more than others: http://blog.nathanbransford.com. He’s funny and sincere and has good posts covering a variety of doubts the writers usually have- if you haven’t already have doubts about writing, then that’s excellent 😉

      But writing is about what you want to say- tips help, but at the end of the day, do you really want to change what you have to say for what others want to hear based on some tips? It’s a decision that you have to make- a tougher one for professional writers…

      Happy reading!

  11. […] When Gabbar met Basanthi […]

Leave a Reply

